Late Night Snacking

Snack Attacks

As someone who eats healthfully on a regular basis, snacks can still be a big issue. When I go out with friends to lunch or dinner,they already know that I will be searching the menu for the fish or salad entrees, getting dressing on the side, etc., but I can’t always help myself when they ask about desserts.

That being said, as the sun goes down, something starts to happen to my discipline. Now is the time to relax, watch a movie, read a book, and snack. As a kid growing up, we always had cookies in the house, and I got into the habit of liking something sweet at night, as many of us do. Even though I am now an adult, I still long for a little something different from regular fare, to cure that sweet tooth. It is difficult to remember that the best treat is feeling healthy and confident about my choices the following day.

One of the solutions I have found to be helpful is drinking lots of water. Snack cravings are often confused with hydration. I find that if I am looking for a snack, a glass of water will often do the trick. Amazingly, it does help stop the need for constant trips to check out the refrigerator, when combined with lots of will power. Another great tip I have found, is that brushing your teeth after dinner will help reduce cravings for snacks, as the minty flavor of toothpaste does not mesh well with most foods. We all have different methods and the most important thing is finding the one that works best for you and your lifestyle.

Leave a Reply

